Evan Almighty = No Church Service

OK, this is slight deviation from my standard posts, but I thought it was worth discussing if anybody is up for it…

I saw an article on the ‘net earlier today announcing that a had canceled services in order to go view the new movie “.” I went to check out the thing for myself, and here it is (see the page for yourself here):

Sunday, July 1
Evan
Almighty
9:00 and 11:00 am
$5.00 per person
No Sunday Services!
Click here to order tickets online.

So, how do you feel about this? Personally, I don’t think it’s cool. I’m all for the movie; that’s not my point. But to replace an actual worship service, an established worship service that the community knows about, with a movie watching session… I’m not hip to it. I’m especially not to hip to charging the members to see it, ya know?

So, let’s discuss, shall we?


Digg!

Click here to download “VERTICAL” by Boochie Shepherd!

Boochie Shepherd website

Fat Kid Records on Squidoo.

~ by fatkidrecords on July 2, 2007.

6 Responses to “Evan Almighty = No Church Service”

  1. It looks to be a purpose drivenTM church so I’m amazed they still even have sermons.

    On the same page that mentioned the church free Sunday movie time, I noticed that they have a “Heroes” advert that they altered. I’ve got no issue with parody use, but chasing pop culture seems to be a slippery slope they can’t help sliding down…

    One is to be able to find God anywhere, but hopefully these church leaders/members can look to somewhere other than their television sets.

  2. Your remark is the sanest thing I’ve heard all day, though I’m pretty surprised you haven’t been thrashed for pointing out this silliness.

    BTW, Boochie Shepherd?? LOL I’d love to hear the story behind that name. 🙂

  3. Hey buddy!! this is Edwin (the brown guy)!!

    Well, great Page and wonderful comments. I will be coming back to read more.

    God bless you in this new road that you are taking.
    We will pary for you!.
    Love you Bro!

    Edwin & Kell and Emma Rios

  4. lincoln, being thrashed by bloggers is probably the least intimidating thing that i can think of, so i’m not sweatin that at all! when you work as a youth minister you learn to get pretty good at taking a verbal beating.

    BTW, for the story on how Boochie Shepherd got the name, head over to http://www.BoochieShepherd.com and search through the photos. the answer is there…

  5. Wednesday, July 25, 2007

    Evan Almighty
    A quiz…

    By David Buckna

    http://www.assistnews.net/Stories/2007/s07070165.htm

  6. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a Reply

 
